Double Choc Caramel Slice

Who doesn’t love caramel slice?
I certainly do. I remember my school canteen sold caramel slice for $3.50. It was a huge slice! And I would only sometimes let myself by it, but when I did, I would make it last all day, savouring every bite.

IMG_9075

Since turning vegan, I’ve been on the hunt for the perfect caramel slice that wasn’t overly complicated. It’s been hard. The caramel has been to gooey, the chocolate doesn’t taste right or it has just taken too long to make!

IMG_9071

So I decided to try and make one myself.

The result? A perfectly chocolate base, with a solid, creamy caramel centre and a soft ganache style chocolate on top. So I thought I’d share the recipe!

IMG_9094

Ingredients-

Base:
– Funch Food Almond and Cacao Mix
– 3 tbsp Coconut Magic Coconut Oil
– 1 cup of dates, soaked in boiling water and drained
– 1 cup of water

Caramel:
– 350g dates, soaked in boiling water and drained
– 3 tbsp Mayvers Tahini
– 1/3 cup Coconut Magic Coconut Oil
– Pinch of salt

Chocolate:
– 1/2 cup cacao
– 1/2 cup Coconut Magic Coconut Oil
– 4 tbsp Coconut Magic Coconut Nectar

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 180C and line a baking tray (~40cm x 20cm) with baking paper
  2. Blend all base ingredient together and pour into pan. Smooth and bake for 20-30 minutes, until firm
  3. Allow base to cool slightly (I put it in the freezer to speed things up)
  4. Blend all caramel ingredients together and pour over base evenly. Place in freezer for 30 minutes
  5. Put all chocolate ingredients into a metal bowl. Place the metal bowl only a pot of boiling water and continuously stir ingredients to melt and combine. Pour chocolate over the caramel and freeze for a few hours
  6. Cut the slice up into whatever size you’d like and store in the freezer. It should last in the freezer for 3 months, but I doubt it’ll last a week it tastes that good!!

IMG_9081

One thought on “Double Choc Caramel Slice

Leave a comment