Sushi Bowls with Lettuce Cups

I’ve been having crazy sushi craving recently. All I want is sushi. Even for breakfast (sounding a little crazy right now, I know).

IMG_9642

But the issue is, I am terrible at making sushi. It always falls apart everywhere and it never tastes the same as store bought vegan sushi.

IMG_9634

Also buying vegan sushi can be such a mission sometimes because everyone puts that mayonnaise thing through the rice. Make sure you’re checking for that when you buy it!

No that is not a big jug of Pimms, it's just soda water, lime and strawberries!
No that is not a big jug of Pimms, it’s just soda water, lime and strawberries!

Anyway, a few days ago I watched one of Essena O’Neill’s Vlogs and saw her make this. I knew I had to try it. It’s so so simple but sometimes it’s nice to see a recipe to get your bearings in the beginning. I know that’s how I like to do things.

IMG_9638

So here it is!

Sushi Bowls with Lettuce Cups

Serves 2

Ingredients

  • 1 cup of rice
  • 1 head of cos lettuce
  • 1 cucumber
  • 2 celery sticks
  • 1 carrot
  • 1 avocado
  • 2 spring onions
  • 1/2 capsicum
  • 1 cup of baby spinach
  • Pickled ginger
  • Tamari

Method

  1. Cook the rice how you like to (I use the absorption method which is 1 cup of rice to 1.5 cups of water at a low-medium heat)
  2. Chop up all ingredients except for the cos lettuce
  3. Place the cos lettuce around your bowls
  4. Scoop as much rice as you’d like into the bottom of the bowl.
  5. Top with raw vegetables and pickled ginger
  6. Drizzle tamari over the top
  7. Eat with a fork, chopstick or scoop it up with your lettuce cups!

2 thoughts on “Sushi Bowls with Lettuce Cups

  1. This delicious treat highlights a trio of bold flavors.
    Even I am very careful about presentation, just like you.

    Like

Leave a comment