Anzac Biscuits Minus the Nasties

I love Anzac biscuits. They’re sweet, chewy yet crunchy and so freaking delicious. I used to beg my mother to buy them whenever I saw them at the supermarket. They came in these huge ANZAC tins and the biscuits were not even that good now that I look back on them, but I still loved them, especially dunked in a big cup of tea.

IMG_9495

But what really gets me about these biscuits is that as I was mixing them together, they completely smelt like all of my Food Tech memories. Food Tech was one of those electives in school that children either hated or loved. I loved it except the teacher always wanted you to follow the recipe EXACTLY. No alterations, no additions, nothing.

IMG_9514

I’ve been looking for a vegan recipe for a little while but then I decided to just adapt an old recipe and you know what? They turned out just as good!

Vegan ✓
Dairy Free ✓
Fructose Friendly ✓
Refined Sugar Free ✓
Easy to Make Gluten Free ✓

IMG_9506

I used all organic, good quality ingredients. The coconut sugar from Coconut Magic made an amazing alternative to brown sugar and they taste even better! Unstabilised Rolled Oats can also be great for those that have trouble digesting normal oats. You can use either really, I only had these ones in my cupboard.

IMG_9518

That’s another thing I love about these biscuits, I always have the ingredients in my cupboard!

hhhh

Anzac Biscuits Minus the Nasties

Ingredients

  • 1 cup plain flour (or gluten free)
  • 1 cup desiccated coconut
  • 1 cup rolled oats (or gluten free)
  • 2/3 cup coconut sugar
  • 125g margarine
  • 3 tbsp maple syrup
  • 1/2 tsp bicarb soda
  • 1.5 tbsp boiling water
  • 1/2 TSP ginger
  • 1 tsp mixed spice
  • 1 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 180C fan-forced and line 2 baking trays with baking paper
  2. Place flour, coconut, oats, spices and coconut sugar in a large bowl and stir to combine
  3. Melt the margarine on a low heat in a small pot with the rice malt syrup at a low heat. Stir occasionally and remove from heat once melted
  4. Combine the bicarb soda with boiling water in a small bowl
  5. Add the bicarb mix and the margarine mix to the dry ingredients. Stir well until all is combined
  6. Roll tablespoons of the mixture into balls and place onto the baking trays. Flatten with a spoon
  7. Bake for 12-15 minutes and allow to cool completely before trying to move them. They will seem very delicate when removed from the oven but will harden up once cooled.

I hope you enjoy these! Let me know if you make them.


IMG_9520

2 thoughts on “Anzac Biscuits Minus the Nasties

Leave a comment