Sunday Morning Brunch

I never do brunch on Sunday.

I am impatient when it comes to food and coffee so brunch on Sunday in Melbourne is a terrible idea. Almost every cafe is bursting with people, with waiting lists and lines and did I mention waiting? 

But I still love brunch. So when my boyfriend said ‘Hey let’s go to Top Paddock for breakfast!,’ how could I say no?

So we get to Top Paddock and (as I suspected) there was a half an hour waiting list. My boyfriend thought this was too long but was craving their Hotcake. Then I remembered that The Kettle Black did a similar Hotcake so we ventured over to South Melbourne, knowing there would be yet another wait for breakfast.

u7lAiWaejcGi4f

Let me also point out that it was 11.30am and we had gone for a morning jog together and I hadn’t had a bite to eat yet. So yeah, I was practically starving.

Once we get to The Kettle Black I see the sea of people. But we sucked it up and put our name on the list. I was in awe of the building itself. One side so modern and articulate with a minimalistic interior whilst the other side was the perfect old style home. I loved it all.

11118160_1147268995289538_393729163_n

Luckily, they had a little takeaway counter outside the cafe so we could sip our delicious coffees whilst waiting. And the coffees were delicious.

We get seated in 15 minutes which I am so thankful for. The staff were ultra friendly and efficient, we didn’t have to wait a second for our menus and water to be handed to us.

The tough bit was choosing what to eat! They had so many delicious vegan options, I didn’t know which to pick.

Screen shot 2015-04-13 at 12.22.54 PM

I ended up getting the Mixed Beans and did not regret it for one second. They were rich, flavoursome, and soft with a creamy pesto and some delicious marinated capsicum. I didn’t want to share.

My boyfriend got the Hotcake of course and loved it. He was so full afterwards but couldn’t stop himself from eating it all.

11079246_1147268958622875_756176171_n

Overall, I loved this cafe and I will be back again.

Rating

Service:                   4.5/5
Exterior:                  5/5
Interior:                   5/5
Atmosphere:           4/5
Food:                       5/5
Coffee:                    5/5

The Kettle Black
50 Albert Rd, South Melbourne
VIC 3205

3 thoughts on “Sunday Morning Brunch

Leave a comment